PDA

View Full Version : Trammel points

jw05450
09-22-2009, 12:35 PM
Bud where did you get your trammel points that you use in your elbow video.Looking for a set that i can put a marker on it.

Jason

bordontn2
09-22-2009, 08:19 PM
jw05450.............I bought a set at Lowes..Mounted on a 3/8x24"-36" plastic rod
which can be replaced with a longer wood dowel..one end has a steel point, the other a clamp with
a pencil..I modified mine to accept a fine point magic marker..both ends are movable..I'm thinking the
end with the pencil also has a steel scribe..............
bordontn2

Bud
09-22-2009, 08:23 PM
Customed designed and made from an old pair I had lying around- you can't buy those yet :(

jw05450
09-23-2009, 10:13 AM
ok thanks

oldtimer58
04-06-2010, 01:59 PM
Hey jw,
I made my own trammels when I was an apprentice.They have served me well.
First you need to get a couple of those threaded pins from the Hilti guy(these are the pins used in those powder-actuated guns to shoot into steel beams:they are threaded on one end{1/4-20} and pointed on the other and about 2" long)
I used 2 pcs.of 1/4" square rod 25" long. Drill a hole in one end of each piece,tap it for 1/4-20 thread, screw in the inserts and secure them with nuts top and bottom.
for the adjustment piece, get a piece of band that comes around the skids of metal that come into the shop.(use the wide stuff,1 1/2-1 /3/4 wide I think).
Now heres the tricky part. you will have to layout a cofortable radius on a piece of scrap,
it needs to be about as wide as you can reach with your thumb and pinky,next lay the 2 pcs of sq rod over the arc you swung: the will give you a rough idea how LONG the hole in the band iron needs to be,the hole will be 1/4" wide the other way.( so in the flat on the piece strap, you need to layout two holes 1/4"x what ever length you determine, X inches apart)